Help Centre
Other topics

Manage tender confidentiality

A tender's confidentiality settings control who has access to the tender in Broker Site Manager and in Broker Estimate.

Note: If your organisation has been configured to restrict access to tenders by team or by department, you can't manage tender confidentiality as described in this article. The configuration can be managed by Mercus helpdesk.

Available confidentiality levels

A tender’s confidentiality level is edited as part of its basic details. Available values are as follows:

  • Public Anyone who can log in to your organisation’s environment can access the tender. If people outside your organisation have access to your environment, for example if you have given access to subcontractors, we recommend that you avoid using Public.

  • Person Specified people can access the tender.

  • Company People from specified companies can access the tender.

  • Team People from specified teams can access the tender.

  • Department People from specified departments can access the tender.

A tender’s estimator always has access to the tender, regardless of confidentiality settings.

Each organisation’s settings include a default confidentiality level for new tenders. Typically, the default confidentiality level is Company, but Mercus helpdesk can change it.

Give and remove access

The Confidentiality level list on a tender’s page shows the people, companies, departments and teams that have access to the tender.

A screenshot of Broker Site Manager A screenshot of Broker Site Manager

You can add records to the list regardless of the tender’s confidentiality level. For example, even if a tender’s confidentiality level is Department, you can give individual people who don’t belong in the department access to it.

Note: Changing a tender’s confidentiality level in its basic details resets the list of records who have access to the tender.

Give access

  1. On a tender’s page, at the bottom of the Confidentiality level list, click the plus sign Plus sign.

    A screenshot of Broker Site Manager A screenshot of Broker Site Manager

  2. If the record (that is, person, company, department or team) that you want to give access to isn’t included in the list that appears, type part of its name in the search field, and then press Enter.

  3. Click one or more records to select them.

  4. Click Add.

Remove access

  1. On a tender’s page, at the bottom of the Confidentiality level list, click the minus sign Minus sign.

  2. Click one or more records to select them.

  3. Click Delete.